Social Media Freaks Me Out

Finally! I’m going to be a published author! But no sooner had I signed the dotted line of my book contract with Crimson Romance, I found out that the real work had just begun. Gone are the days of letting the publisher do all the promoting and selling. If I really want to sell books, I’d better get the word out there, too. Enter social media.

Me on facebook is akin to me on skates. Yes, I can do it, but there’s a lot of screaming and crying involved. But during these past few weeks, I’ve perservered and soon I hope to be gliding gracefully (and tearlessly) all over facebook.

Now I’m told I need a blog or a website. Really? I am about to enter deep water far beyond my comfort zone. Did I mention I can’t swim either? I sink like a rock tethered to an anchor. But I’m okay. I’ve donned my yellow life vest and I’m bobbing along, even learning to sumberge myself. Someday, with many more blogs behind me, I’ll be a certified blogger. No water winds required.

Twitter has made me paranoid. People are following me. Why me? I hate being the leader. I’m a follower! Tell me what you need done, and I’ll do it, but please, don’t expect me to lead.  Yet, there you all are, traisping behind me. It’s as if you think I know where I’m going. I don’t. Now it makes perfect sense that I should be following you. That, I’m comfortable with.

Pinterest. I was almost afraid to see what that involved. How delighted I was to discover it’s all pictures! Yippee! I’m a visual person. Within no time I’m pinning and repinning with the best of them. Yes, I have followers again, but this time I’m okay with it. Make a congo line behind me if you’d like.

So, in general, I’m holding my own on the social media front.  I’m maneuvering about the facebook skating rink and screaming a lot less while doing it. I’m treading water and blogging. And I’ve discovered followers are people exactly like me. Well, maybe not exactly like me. They probably know how to really skate and swim.

I dedicate this blog to all the helpful people on the various social media sites who told me where to go and how to get there–oops, that didn’t come out right. Whatever! Thanks for showing me the way!

Please feel free to visit this blogsite often. And I’ll try to have something posted at least once a week.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashlyn Mathews
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 05:14:33

    Welcome to a fellow Crimson Romance author and congrats on your contract! Great post. I totally relate.

    Reply

  2. lynncahoon
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 12:23:52

    It takes forever to find your groove and the right mix of what works for you and your writing. Since I work at a DJ full time, and drive away another full day of hours, I have to LEARN how to write first. Did I do that today? No, I’m here supporting a CR sister. What we need to learn most, we teach, right? Nice Blog.

    Reply

    • writeonlady
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 16:26:45

      Thanks, Lynn. I’m still looking for the right groove. It’s interesting to know you’re a DJ. I was happily writing about a female DJ and her neighbour, “Mr. Studly”, but then I read that anything to do with song titles and lyrics is a copyrighting nightmare. Too bad, because my writing collegues were enjoying the story and I was having a blast writing it. Best wishes, Lynn. See you on the flip side. I think that refers to records, doesn’t it? 😉

      Reply

  3. Teresa
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 12:44:53

    Wow! This is great. And I can so relate to you and the feeling. I’m definitely afraid to go too deep into social media. Unfortunately, I think it’s required these days to get the word out.
    Good luck, Carol!

    Reply

  4. dmburton72
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 12:50:51

    Like Teresa, I can totally relate. I’ve been at this social media stuff since last November. Scary stuff…and then it’s not so bad. Like anything new, you learn to adjust and it can be fun. Sort of. 🙂 Best of luck, Carol.

    Reply

  5. Tara Mills
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 13:30:02

    Boy oh boy can I relate. I feel like a nitwit sometimes. I suppose social networking is a skill like anything else. The more you do it, the better you become. But so far, I’m not exactly enamored of the process. I feel like I’m picking myself up and checking my nose to see if its still on straight far too often. What really concerns me is the amount of time involved. I feel every minute draining away my very limited and precious time allowance for actual writing. Like grains of sand flowing out through my fingers. I simply can’t hold onto it. I sincerely hope that I’ll reach a point where, once established, I’ll be able to control the reins on this beast, not be dragged along behind it, picking grass out of my teeth.

    Reply

  6. Carol Ritten Smith
    Jun 29, 2012 @ 16:11:06

    Thanks, Teresa. It is scary, but millions of people have figured it out so I guess we can!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

