Get the Champagne Flutes and Pop the Cork

I’ve been reading the comments on facebook bouncing back and forth between the Crimson Romance’s June authors. There is so much excitement among them that I can’t help but get caught up in it too. Each time a beautiful new cover is revealed, I can almost hear champagne corks popping as the authors celebrate.

And who can blame them!

It’s no simple thing, writing a novel. It’s far more than just taking a concept, piling words upon words, adding and deleting, moving and shuffling until the words form sentences, then paragraphs, then chapters, and finally a completed manuscript.  It’s about the writer digging deep within himself. He has to have the guts to steal time from a myriad of other obligations which threaten to heap guilt upon him.  He has to have faith to stick with his original story when a new and seductive plot sidles up next to him. He has to endure the pain when rejection letters are slicing away at his confidence.

They why do it? Why write when it causes such angst?”

I can only answer for myself.  I began writing simply because I wondered if I could. It was a whim, a foolish desire to see if I had any writing ability in me. I was unaware of the challenges I would face.

So I wrote, joined a writers’ group and wrote some more. I read books upon books about grammar and plotting and characterization. I rounded out my characters and put them in a lovely setting to live, and before I knew it, they were practically telling me their story and I simply recorded it. Certainly I presented them with obstacles, but ultimately they themselves resolved the problems. And while all this was going on, I had discovered a new passion . . . writing!

Did I have trouble finding the time to write? Not really. My two biggest responsibilities were adults now, so I was spared the guilt which weighs so heavily on young mothers. My dear husband understood my need to write and gave me free rein. I really didn’t care if the floor needed washing or the laundry needed folding. My writing took priority.

Was I tempted by other plots. Yes, sadly I was. But I refuse to take full blame. My characters, Tom and Beth, spent months at a time pleading editors to publish their story. While they were away, I sought out other characters for company. But when they returned, rejected again, I commiserated with them and promised never to give up on them. I edited and edited. Then I edited some more.

And one day, one glorious day, a lovely and wise young editor at Crimson Romance took an interest in the story. She accepted it!

The other Crimson Romance Ladies in Red know that feeling of euphoria. We’re riding high on it . . . the June authors indubitably riding highest.  To all the wonderful women at Crimson Romance, cheers! In a couple months it will be my turn to celebrate and you can bet champagne will flow.

P.S. Tom and Beth ask you to stop by your local eBook store and read all about their “Stubborn Hearts”.  I told them this wasn’t the time or place to shamelessly plug their story, but when have they ever listened to me!   😉

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. D'Ann
    May 31, 2012 @ 20:16:11

    Hi, Carol.
    As one of those June launch authors, I’m between giddy and throwing up. It has been a long, hard ride–twenty years–and sometimes I can’t believe it’s real.

    Reply

  2. efmeyette
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 00:38:59

    Wonderful post, Carol. My journey is much like yours, and I am flying high!

    Reply

  3. Heather Rodney-Diaz
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 00:59:59

    Such a great post. You described it so well, Carol! It really is no small feat and quite an amazing journey I must say! Congrats with your book and cheers to all the June and July authors at Crimson Romance!

    Reply

  4. writeonlady
    Jun 01, 2012 @ 03:42:47

    I wish you wonderful success with your book! Cheers, Carol

    Reply

  5. Rionna Morgan
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 10:36:50

    What a wonderful post! Thank you for sharing!!

    All the Best,
    Rionna

    Reply

  6. stephaniemfreemanauthor
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 12:17:47

    Fantastic post! You understand my happy madness! Thank you and much success with your future book!

    Reply

  7. denysecohen
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 12:32:28

    Carol, I’m glad you listened to the voices in your head—or your heart. I’ve listened to mine even when the doubt of writing in a language different from the one I was born in filled me with fear. Writing indeed is not easy, and surely is not something we can hope to see the results instantly—at least, not when you’re shooting for the stars, a.k.a. writing a NOVEL. I feel June 4th was the beginning of a long road of learning and growing, I’m humbled that Crimson Romance is paving it for me, and I’m happy to have the L.I.R to share the road.

    Reply

  8. irenepreston
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 15:37:09

    Well said, Carol! It IS more than piling words upon words. So few “writers” ever even finish a book, much less make it to publication – so give yourself a well-deserved pat on the back. Your release day will be here before you know it – we’ll have the champagne waiting for you!

    Reply

  9. writeonlady
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 19:05:16

    Thanks, Irene! Hope your book, Infamous, is flying off the virtual book shelf! Carol

    Reply

  10. Teresa
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 22:24:25

    So great to hear another sucess story! Like so many, it’s been a long weary road, uphill all the way, but finally I got the acceptance email I’d been waiting years for. And with it a whole new road to travel; the road to publication! Congratulations Carol and I look forward to meeting Tom and Beth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

