Now the Scary Part Begins

I’ve just finished writing my second novel. As my critique partners scrutinise the manuscript for errors, it’s time for me to find someone to publish it. I have great confidence in this book, but the thought of sending it out to a publishing house terrifies me. There is so much competition with other hopeful writers all vying  to catch the eye of an editor. The chance of rejection is high.

I remember, that before I found a home for my first book, STUBBORN HEARTS, I nearly gave up on writing. Waiting months to see if my book would be accepted for publication and then receiving a rejection letter … well, it felt like my writing confidence was punched right in the face.  I threw the manuscript in the back of my bedroom closet. Stupid me, why did I think I could write? But my characters drew me back. They deserved to have their story told. So I would haul the manuscript out, work on it some more and send it out to another place. It was a depressing cycle. And then acceptance came.

It’s hard to describe my feelings when I read the email saying they loved my story and wanted to publish it. First of all I let my doubts and insecurities surface. Really, they want my story? They loved it? Are they talking about my book? Then it hit me. I’m about to be a published author. OMG. Who do I call first? My husband, my mother, my kids? What a wonderful high that had been!

That high was short-lived when I was told I should be on Facebook, develop a blog, and network and promote like crazy. I had never looked at Facebook, and barely knew what a blog was. Promoting? Wasn’t that my publisher’s job?

Welcome to the new world of publishing, Carol. If an author wants her books to succeed, she better be out there getting them and herself noticed. It’s not about writing the best book you can anymore. That of course is top priority, but coming a close second is your committment to make it succeed. My committment is strong, but the know-how is sadly insufficient.

And now I’m faced with trying to entice a publisher to like my new manuscript. Wish me luck!

***

Okay, I put this blog post into a draft and then got busy and forgot about it. So here’s an update. I’m signing a contract for the above said book with Books To Go Now. Yeah! It is tentatively titled, HEARTS RACING.

Now I must get back to work on my next story! Will this insanity ever end? I hope not!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vicbriggs
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 18:49:36

    I am finishing revision on my first… scary that I will have to let go of it soon. Fingers crossed you will get a publisher in no time :)

    Reply

  2. Becky Lower
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:10:07

    My latest contemporary was accepted by BTGN, too, right before Christmas. Can’t wait to work with them!

    Reply

  3. Galen Rose
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 21:47:08

    Congratulations on finishing the second manuscript and wishing you the best of everything WHEN it gets published!

    Reply

  4. Deborah O'Neill Cordes
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 22:45:47

    Yay, Carol! Congratulations on getting “the call” a second time. Becky Lower, too! And vicbriggs, I wish you much success! 2014 is going to be a good year! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

